Leonardo DiCaprio: I grew up ‘very poor’ surrounded by crack cocaine and prostitutes

Power of positivity. He did not allow what was surrounding him to define him.

Metro

Leonardo DiCaprio says his ‘very poor’ upbringing surrounded by drugs and prostitution spared him from class As and spurred him to stardom.

The 39-year-old zactor, who lived in a run-down area of LA until he was nine, explained that there was ‘a major prostitution ring on my street corner’ and that his youth was swamped by ‘crime and violence everywhere’.

‘It really was like Taxi Driver in a lot of ways…I grew up very poor and I got to see the other side of the spectrum,’ DiCaprio explained.

‘Never done [drugs],’ The Wolf Of Wall Street star told the Los Angeles Times, explaining how he was put off experimenting after his exposure to crack cocaine and heroin abuse.

‘That’s because I saw this stuff literally every day when I was three or four years old.

‘So Hollywood was a walk in the park for me… I’d go to parties and…

View original post 73 more words

Leave a Reply

